Which Science Fiction Writer Are You?

Posted: November 5, 2005 by Emma Bull in art

This is either a very strange first post for my blog, or a perfectly sensible one. From the “What Science Fiction Writer Are You?” quiz, my results:

I am:

Samuel R. “Chip” Delany

Few have had such broad commercial success with aggressively experimental prose techniques.

Which science fiction writer are you?

I wish I could say that I’ve been half as daring a writer, but still, if I coulda grown up to be anybody SFish, that guy there is the one.

Comments
  1. Will Shetterly says:

    I seem to be Ursula K. LeGuin.

    I don’t want to think about this.

  2. Kim Antieau says:

    I’m William Gibson. That’s very bizarre. Nothing against Gibson, but I want to be Ursula K. LeGuin. We shop at the same food co-op. Come on. (Now I have to see who Mario is.) Apparently I’m also Igor Stravinsky, Classical Composer. Uh-huh. As far as House Paint goes, I am: “Longs Drugs ‘Goth Black’ matte interior latex. For the ultimate (but affordable) gloom & doom bedroom.” I’ve just had an epiphany: if I’m taking a Cosmo quiz on what kind of paint I am, I MUST be avoiding something. Like work. Life.

  3. sdn says:

    hihi emma. you are now syndicated to lj as http://www.livejournal.com/users/emmabull.

  4. Anonymous says:

    It told me I was Octavia Butler.

    Yeah, that sounds about right.

    I was more worried about the “Are You A Republican?” quiz. It told me I was 43% Republican, and a Soccer Mom, which is worrying, since I’m terrible at soccer and I’m not a mom…

    Blue Jean

  5. Emma Bull says:

    Blue, I think that’s sort of like finding out that, of all the Firefly characters one can be, one is, of course, Simon.

    SDN, thank you! But what are you doing reading blogs when you’re supposed to be sitting in the bar at WFC being fabulous?

    Kim, yes, we’re all waxing the cat. But he gets so shiny this way…

    Will, embrace your inner Metro, cowboy.

  6. Ted Lemon says:

    Apparently I’m Greg Benford. I’m not sure what to make of that. I mean, I have a lot of respect for him, but I don’t tend to read his stuff.

    I’m a bit shocked that you aren’t Emma Bull. I think the quiz needs to be updated.

  7. Mario says:

    I am James Tiptree Jr. Very cool. I always liked her stuff. And loved that she had everyone fooled for years.

  8. Anonymous says:

    sdn says:
    >> hihi emma. you are now syndicated to lj as http://www.livejournal.com/users/emmabull.< < this is excellent news! *feeds* ^_^ I got Isaac Asimov. *blinks* I’m gonna have to think about this… – Kate (kayselkiemoon)

  9. Elayne says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Emma!

  10. Grey says:

    YES!!!!

    I am Le Guin, too, Will.

    Of course, if the quiz didn’t tell me I was Le Guin, I was going to claim her anyway.

    I have dibs on being Le Guin in my next life, Kim. If I do something really bad to my karma, then I bequeath her to you.

  11. Lance says:

    Aha! It seems to me that I’ve never seen you and Chip Delaney together in the same place. And the resemblance is…striking, really.

    (Also, hi!)

  12. Emma Bull says:

    I have the same mass of graying hair, but on the other end of my face. Otherwise, “No deeferonce,” as the creepy woman in the Blue Bonnet Margarine commercial used to say.

    (Okay, okay, that’s not true. I’m not nearly that gray.)

  13. Anonymous says:

    I’m Hal Clement. That’s Truly Bizare.

    Cynhaven

  14. Emma Bull says:

    That does seem a little TB. Hi, Cyn.

  15. MKeaton says:

    I’m Bob Heinlein. I hope this will not come between us. (evil grin)

    MK

  16. Neil says:

    I was Chip too. And like you I both preened and knew that I wasn’t even close.

    (Then again, I stopped trusting those tests when I took a WHich Comics Person Are You, and I got Gary Groth. And Scott Mccloud got Gary Groth. And I couldn’t get me if I tried.)

  17. Emma Bull says:

    {hysterical laughter at visions of you trying to channel your inner Gary Groth}

    And hi there–plowed any snow yet?

  18. Neil says:

    No snowploughing yet — the world looks dusted with snow but it’s not deep. Maybe tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

