Have I Seen Matrix I Too Often?

Posted: December 14, 2005 by Emma Bull in art
Androgynous
You scored 66 masculinity and 60 femininity!
You scored high on both masculinity and femininity. You have a strong personality exhibiting characteristics of both traditional sex roles.

My test tracked 2 variables How you compared to other people your age and gender:

free online dating free online dating
You scored higher than 34% on masculinity
free online dating free online dating
You scored higher than 40% on femininity

Link: The Bem Sex Role Inventory Test written by weirdscience on Ok Cupid, home of the 32-Type Dating Test

The test is most interesting for the assumptions it reveals, circa 1971 when it was created. I thought we were generally smarter than that in 1971, but maybe I just hung out with the cool people.

Comments
  1. Grey says:

    Yeah, you were cool people back then. 🙂

    I was born in ’70, and grew up in a strongly fundamentalist household.

    I guess I was just stubborn, because on this test I just scored:

    “Androgynous — You scored 76 masculinity and 53 femininity — You scored high on both masculinity and femininity. You have a strong personality exhibiting characteristics of both traditional sex roles.”

    I have to admit these results don’t really surprise me.

  2. Will Shetterly says:

    “Androgynous
    You scored 70 masculinity and 56 femininity!
    You scored high on both masculinity and femininity. You have a strong personality exhibiting characteristics of both traditional sex roles.”

  3. Emma Bull says:

    Cool! Dibs on playing Trinity! (“Can you fly one of those?” “I can now.”)

    Seriously, I graduated high school in 1972, and except for the weird rule that women couldn’t take shop and men couldn’t take home economics (college-placement-track-baby-androgyne that I was, I took neither), I don’t remember feeling any more out of the gender mainstream than anyone else seemed to. (Considering that we were all in high school, where everyone feels out of the mainstream of everything.) Nor do I recall any great gender-role enlightenment coming to me between now and ’71. Two possibilities: Small-town northern Illinois high schools were a lot more progressive than we give them credit for, or this test was a pretty bogus measure of gender I.D. even in its heyday.

    I had fun, though.

  4. hamadryad says:

    Huh. I’m androgynous too. You seem to know a lot of androgynous people.

    “Androgynous–You scored 66 masculinity and 56 femininity!–You scored high on both masculinity and femininity. You have a strong
    personality exhibiting characteristics of both traditional sex roles.”

    Can’t say I’m surprised by the results.

    By the time I got to senior public school (grades 7 and 8) all students had to take both shop and home ec, half a year each. It was pretty cool. Some of those guys were pretty handy with a sewing machine. They could follow the lines better than I could. 😛

    I was a pretty mean hand with a hack saw and a power sander. I was afraid of the band saw, though.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Androgynous — You scored 63% musculinity and 63% femininity.

    Hmmm. I don’t feel that balanced.

    I graduated HS in ’71 and was told that my math scores were obscene for a girl. My final semester in college, my art professor was shocked that I wasn’t a graphics major. Working in Theater used more of me than any other profession — and introduced me to you. (So glad I talked you out of it.)

    In MATRIX, I’m the guy left at the keyboard. I love playing with blueprints and charts.

    No offense, I’m surprised Will didn’t score more even.

    Cynhaven

Leave a Reply

